n
15

Lost 3 hours of work to a synced folder I forgot about

Had a photo editing project saved in my OneDrive folder on my laptop. I edited for about 3 hours, then closed the lid and drove to a cafe in Portland. Opened my laptop there and the file was back to the version from last week. Turns out OneDrive had synced an old copy and overwrote my local changes because I hadn't fully shut down before the sync ran. No backup, no version history. I spent the rest of the afternoon redoing it, but now I keep all active projects in a local folder and only move them to the cloud when I'm done. Anyone else had cloud sync eat their work like that?
1 comments

Log in to join the discussion

Log In
1 Comment
uma_baker99
Ugh but OneDrive keeps version history, you just gotta right click and hit version history.
2